Chronicles of Elaine Enlightening

Nine months ago I adopted two Toy Poodles from a breeder in South Missouri.  I knew for a couple of years that I would at some point adopt a dog and train it to be a house dog.  The following reasons are why knew I wanted a dog.  First of all, I did not ever have a dog as a child nor do I remember wanting one.  My mom and dad were divorced for as long as I can remember and my dad always had a dog.  Big dogs, Doberman, German Shepherd, you get the picture.  My dad was a big man and he thought a dog was big, or it wasn’t a “real dog”.  He was a good pack leader and his dogs were wonderful pets.  But, I spent so little time at my dad’s and step moms that I really had nothing to do with the dogs and had no interest in them.  But I had bought into, subconsciously, his whole belief system about what a real dog looks like, how it should be raised, in the garage or outside, little dogs just jump on you and yap etc.

I had bought into my my moms belief system that pets were too much trouble and animals belong outside on a farm.  Nothing else is acceptable.

On the farm, where I lived with my husband, we had cattle dogs because my husband ran a cattle farm.  They were his pets and I never paid them any attention. I was pretty sure that I didn’t even like animals at all.  Well, I thought I was a cat person, I married my second husband, now my ex, and they had a cat that attacked your ankles and bit incessantly, that’s when I decided I just did not like animals, because it appeared to me that the people in my circle of influence whom I considered animal lovers, did not care what their animals did, they loved them anyway.  

It wasn’t until my brother introduced me to The Dog Whisperer that I became aware that it wasn’t that I didn’t like dogs, I just had never met a well-trained, balanced small house dog. For the first time I had a glimmer of hope that I could actually raise a dog properly and enjoy it.   I also discovered that I had a fear of dogs from being followed by a big dog on the way home from school when I was very young.

I had also been in some very lovely, well-kept homes where small, medium to large dogs lived and that was when the myth my parents passed on to me that dogs make your house stink was dispelled.  Some people actually give their dogs baths!!  Aha!!  I have a keen sense of smell, too!

Now that Ceasar was my inspiration, I watched every episode and studied all his materials.  My son was begging for a puppy and I decided it was time.  My son had just finished his Freshman year of High School and thought the summer would be a great time to house train a puppy, plus by the time he graduated from High School the puppies would be adults, so the two of us could tag-team during the puppy years.  I decided to get two, once I realized how they could be company for each other and it would also give me an instant pack.  I had pretty much resigned myself to being single, ugh! more blocks that I have been tapping on, but that’s another story, so they would be loyal companions for me.

The main reason I wanted puppies is because I was big in to personal development and I realized that to face my fears and to get out of my comfort zones was a necessary step to growth.  This was all before I knew about EFT.  I wanted to overcome my fear of dogs, for one thing.  Plus, I had shifted a lot of my mindsets around animals in general.  With my new perspective, I could see how having dogs would be a fantastic way to grow spiritually.  After all, dogs see humans as energy and they only follow balanced pack leaders.  This was a big shoe to fill, but I was determined to give it my all.

We adopted B and L, B is a male and L is a female, the end of June, 2010.  Toy Poodles are known to be smart, cute and they don’t shed.  I have to admit a no-shedding dog was a major criteria for me.  I am a “neat”, so cleanliness is a high priority for me.  Since cute is relative, I just went with poodles because they are considered french and my mom is full blood French.  Ceasar says to not buy the breed but buy the right energy for you and your family.  We were so green when we picked out our puppies that we may not have gotten the most balanced dogs, but they are the ones we were meant to have.

Now, I agree that a family isn’t complete without a dog and two is even better.  But, honestly, it has been a ton of work and some of the time I still don’t know what I am doing.  Had I been tapping before we adopted, I could have saved myself and the puppies a lot of grief.  But, that wasn’t how it went, so it wasn’t meant to be.  I am tapping on all the limiting beliefs that I learned from my well-meaning parents.  A lot of latent anger and grief has come up as a result of learning to deal with our darling furry babies.  It has come up that for the most part I was taught that animals were considered lowly dumb creatures that were here to serve us, to be cast aside to perish by our choice.  No money is to be spent on them, they eat scraps and if they get sick and die, oh well, they are expendable.  We shouldn’t get attached to animals for all these reasons.  They are with out spirit, too.  Whew, no wonder I had no connection with animals on a spiritual level. It is still a work in progress, but I am now feeling authentic love for my puppies and enjoying them immensely thanks to HBR.Image

That pretty much sums up why I adopted the puppies and more to follow on the saga of our furry babies, because I have learned a ton about myself because of them.  Baron has the one who is especially excited when people come to the door, his barking and Ladies hyper jumping have triggered some of my greatest fears about yapping, jumping little dogs.  I have become aware that because I get frustrated at those times that Baron is feeling a greater need to be the leader, since I am exhibiting unbalanced behavior, so he has to take over. I’ll be tapping on this and am looking forward to seeing a change in me first.  

B and L are truly blessings!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

