Chronicles of Elaine Enlightening

Yesterday, I picked out an outfit that suited me and was appropriate for the weather before my shower….. 

To digress, I have always been obsessive about planning everything in advance.  Learning to live in the present moment doesn’t necessarily mean, to me, that I never plan anything, but that I am willing to seek Divine Guidance first and then let go of all the outcomes. (I have pretty much just let go of all my own ideas about planning in general, to allow the Holy Spirit to guide me in everything I do.)  It’s important not to judge what does happen as bad or wrong if something alters the original plan.  This has been extremely challenging for me and if I didn’t have tapping, I would not have found the freedom I have today.  I have spent my entire adult years attempting to surrender this aspect of my life to God (planning my day out to the minute and then being angry if it didn’t turn out the way I had planned).  There were literally no breakthroughs until I understood how the ego works and how to tap on the limiting beliefs found there.   What I am learning is to trust Divine Guidance in EVERYTHING.  

So back to yesterday, I picked something out before my shower and only to change my mind after the shower.  I wondered why I had spent a good 10 minutes trying to find the perfect outfit earlier only to change my mind.  I am not at all saying that there is never a time to plan ahead what I’m going to wear or anything else for that matter.  What I am saying is that this experience of picking out clothes ahead of time, more times than not, results in me changing my mind anyway.  It just became clear to me that this was one way that I could practice staying present.  You see, for me planning ahead comes from a scarcity mindset.  If I don’t do this now, then it might not get done, or what if I forget, or maybe I won’t have time….anxiety, fear-based thinking has brought me nothing but insanity, headaches and frustration.  When it comes to picking out clothes ahead I am just obsessing about whether my choices are perfect for the ever changing Missouri weather and are appropriate for my needs that day, plus I always want to look polished.  Letting go of perfection in all areas of my life is something that I am also in the process of tapping on and releasing.  Not to mention, I am in the process of simplifying my wardrobe so that I am not digging for what I want because I have too many choices.

“Time can release as well as imprison, depending on whose interpretation of it you use.  Past, present and future are not continuous, unless you force continuity on them.  You can perceive them as continuous and so make them so for you.  But do not be deceived, and then believe that this is how it is.  For to believe reality is what you would have it be according to your use for it delusional.  You would destroy time’s continuity by breaking it into past, present and future for your own purposes.  You would anticipate the future on the basis of your past experience, and plan for it accordingly.  Yet by doing so you are aligning past and future, and not allowing the miracle, which could intervene between them, to free you to be born again.”  A Course In Miracles

I am ready to stop anticipating the future based on past experiences by letting go forever the belief that there isn’t enough time, money, food, etc etc.  Abundance is my birthright and yours.  Staying present is where the miracles are.

In what areas of your life are you afraid to surrender?

Leave a Reply

